Final Graphic Collage

For my revision of my graphic collage I got a lot of great peer and instructor feedback along with people outside of the class to see what I could do to improve on my rough draft. It was difficult deciding what to change because for example, some people thought the overall image was too bright and that I should reduce the vibrance, while others thought I should try to make the image pop even more with color. I decided to drop the vibrance and color balance a little because some feedback thought that it would draw more attention to the collage as a whole and not be overwhelming. Some of the other feedback I got was about the 3D text I used. It did end up looking a little rough around the edges and I was given ideas on blending it better or adding some effects to the text layers to make them blend a little better, as well as dropping the opacity slightly so it seemed less sharp. I also added another 3D text layer to kind of explain the purpose of the collage a little more. In my original collage the only text was “My universe.” It might be a little self-explanatory but with the feedback I got, I thought it would really help to open up on that a little more so I added “Friends and Family” because that is what constitutes my universe (cheesy I know). I also changed the lighting of the 3D text layers so it looked like the shadowing was coming from the bright blue planet bellow. I also put all the pictures I used together in the middle over the moon to show that these things are the center of my universe while adding some outer glow, bevel and emboss, and stroke effects to add to the 3D theme sort of and make the images pop off of the background.

Nothing about the theme of my collage changed as I really liked my progress the first time I submitted it. I still wanted a collage that looked well put together, like it took a lot of time and effort for a rookie like me, to show images that sum up my weirdness and what’s important to me, and to just express myself. I got a lot of constructive feedback from peers, instructors, and people outside of the class and I’m really happy with how my first ever Photoshop creation turned out and like seeing the differences between my first draft and this one. The amount of fiddling and backtracking due to mistakes has really gone down a lot between the time of the beginning of this unit, and up until the submission of my final graphic collage.

Here are also the citations and links to the 3 pictures I used (no changes were made to those 3 besides color balances from the first draft until this one), which are all under the free to remix CC agreement.

Sweetie187. “Space.” Flickr. Yahoo!, 12 Mar. 2011. Web. 26 Jan. 2015. . (some rights reserved- free to share and remix) <https://www.flickr.com/photos/58782395@N03/5518992555/in/photolist-bTgqWn-9pGhd4-9pGgQg-9pKiho-9pKhUm-9pGfXt-9pGgw8-9pKiEC-b8VdVc-4tx8TR-2ARhsT-iQiAx3-bNizEt-bNizrt-bzoVPo-bNiziX-73QCyX-iY2g1b-aC6dCi-9p2g8C-bu9fK-8zMrjp-fDVD71-hf4z6-9RpstC-72hXSg-dFxFBv-3MiXpn-87Te8V-7D9Eyf-9mKYWk-dd9c8g-cCTs3j-wCUX7-47zLGV-9p72ri-HFzzD-mfJeo-7CfoiH-ddtmtv-2miSSi-fLcamn-iQizjS-2xHS4v-7eo7Jo-73zAEn-kjkJ5N-bpixTw-oMZJdP-8e1Pdt&gt;.

Sweetie187. “Space.” Flickr. Yahoo!, 02 June 2011. Web. 26 Jan. 2015. . (some rights reserved- free to share and remix) <https://www.flickr.com/photos/58782395@N03/5519580228/in/photolist-bTgqWn-cb14DC-9pGhd4-9pGgQg-9pKiho-9pKhUm-9pGfXt-9pGgw8-cPcpqj-cPctMU-9pKiEC-cPcrDm-bAWvdk-o9xe37-b8VdVc-7Tby25-5Lnfk9-bHxiWx-9Ej29K-9XwA5y&gt;.

Spencer, Kenneth. “Moon 100614.” Flickr. Yahoo!, 07 Oct. 2014. Web. 30 Jan. 2015. . (some rights reserved- free to share and remix) <https://www.flickr.com/photos/kendo26/15280817250/in/photolist-oq1roA-pC6VVv-phjbAo-oGWTUF-oQnpMc-oGeRwX-oFngcJ-oRiecr-qmw69R-oC1csd-orpXdX-oD9WWq-pw1cqC-pGTJfz-pVPczU-pFySvB-p8RoAx-ovnWWw-oHYYDu-piFsmS-pCnva1-pcmm5R-q1Xup3-p8Xs92-pcDjXg-paioFF-pbPcS4-pgHeyf-qdH2sF-pnDBKN-peAT8G-p6Gseq-phWsdJ-pGcH9h-oWETWa-pUY5ig-qkUKcJ-pDXPkc-pcvu5M-oScu7y-pau4FP-puKyyF-pjqALR-ptGU1i-pwmrED-pDzQ3H-pGPp4N-pGgY8L-pid3mW-p9EgS4&gt;.

All 3 sources are linked to this message- https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

Re-Do

Leave a Reply

