Narrative Graphic Collage

The Purpose of my collage is to illustrate things that are important to me while utilizing my personality and creativity in the design. I must admit this is not how I pictured my collage coming out as I had some pretty unrealistic expectations for my first Photoshop creation. Originally I had envisioned having my face centered in a picture of space with with my eyes on fire and an orbit of items and pictures surrounding my face. The more I progressed with this idea, the more I realized how I should do something more simple and less confusing. I wanted to keep the idea of a mixture of layers for a space background because space and the stars just really interest me and I simply think they are nice to look at and not distracting from the other images that would end up being included. Instead of a solid black background without texture, stars and similar things make a nice contrast to the main images (the three “space” layers and their pictures as a part of the background image are all cited bellow, all of which are shared under a free to remix license).

The main images that a family member or I took are pictures that are just important and memorable to me. Three of them were a collage that I had previously made of me and my parents and siblings. The two pictures of the praying mantis of the other collage, I took and made while working. My work is a hot spot for these awesome animals and I cant deny the fact that I have captured dozens over the years and observed them. I love wildlife and this was the most practical way of demonstrating that. Previous attempts at trying to integrate a shark or a reptile of some sort into the space background didn’t go so well and I thought this would be a good substitute. Originally, both those sets of collages had a white background so I inversed the picture and set a black background so it wouldn’t stick out too bad. The last picture was of my girlfriend and I for a Homecoming dance in high school. We took pride in being the most patriotic couple which inspired her to make her own dress which was awesome!

Each Picture is outlined with the Bevel and Emboss and Outer Glow effects which add a glowing effect and make the pictures stand out nicely. There are also two color balance adjustments I added which made the colors of every picture stand out a lot better, as well as change the stars color from the background from a boring gray to a slight red, which accompanied with the blue parts of the background go really well with the red white and blue in my largest picture.

Finally, I tried goofing around with other affects and decided I would try a 3D title to kind of go along with the space theme of the background and add some depth to the images as a whole.

My original idea was overly confusing but sounded cool in my mind, but I instead opted to try to make it simpler for my skill while still demonstrating my personality and interests as a part of my main topic. This assignment was a little tough and took some trial and error but it was really enjoyable but I cant help but think I could do better with more practice.

Sweetie187. “Space.” Flickr. Yahoo!, 12 Mar. 2011. Web. 26 Jan. 2015. . (some rights reserved- free to share and remix) <https://www.flickr.com/photos/58782395@N03/5518992555/in/photolist-bTgqWn-9pGhd4-9pGgQg-9pKiho-9pKhUm-9pGfXt-9pGgw8-9pKiEC-b8VdVc-4tx8TR-2ARhsT-iQiAx3-bNizEt-bNizrt-bzoVPo-bNiziX-73QCyX-iY2g1b-aC6dCi-9p2g8C-bu9fK-8zMrjp-fDVD71-hf4z6-9RpstC-72hXSg-dFxFBv-3MiXpn-87Te8V-7D9Eyf-9mKYWk-dd9c8g-cCTs3j-wCUX7-47zLGV-9p72ri-HFzzD-mfJeo-7CfoiH-ddtmtv-2miSSi-fLcamn-iQizjS-2xHS4v-7eo7Jo-73zAEn-kjkJ5N-bpixTw-oMZJdP-8e1Pdt&gt;.

Sweetie187. “Space.” Flickr. Yahoo!, 02 June 2011. Web. 26 Jan. 2015. . (some rights reserved- free to share and remix) <https://www.flickr.com/photos/58782395@N03/5519580228/in/photolist-bTgqWn-cb14DC-9pGhd4-9pGgQg-9pKiho-9pKhUm-9pGfXt-9pGgw8-cPcpqj-cPctMU-9pKiEC-cPcrDm-bAWvdk-o9xe37-b8VdVc-7Tby25-5Lnfk9-bHxiWx-9Ej29K-9XwA5y&gt;.

Spencer, Kenneth. “Moon 100614.” Flickr. Yahoo!, 07 Oct. 2014. Web. 30 Jan. 2015. . (some rights reserved- free to share and remix) <https://www.flickr.com/photos/kendo26/15280817250/in/photolist-oq1roA-pC6VVv-phjbAo-oGWTUF-oQnpMc-oGeRwX-oFngcJ-oRiecr-qmw69R-oC1csd-orpXdX-oD9WWq-pw1cqC-pGTJfz-pVPczU-pFySvB-p8RoAx-ovnWWw-oHYYDu-piFsmS-pCnva1-pcmm5R-q1Xup3-p8Xs92-pcDjXg-paioFF-pbPcS4-pgHeyf-qdH2sF-pnDBKN-peAT8G-p6Gseq-phWsdJ-pGcH9h-oWETWa-pUY5ig-qkUKcJ-pDXPkc-pcvu5M-oScu7y-pau4FP-puKyyF-pjqALR-ptGU1i-pwmrED-pDzQ3H-pGPp4N-pGgY8L-pid3mW-p9EgS4&gt;.

All 3 sources are linked to this message- https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/
Finished

4 thoughts on “Narrative Graphic Collage

  1. Your image is really creative and super fun! I think you really show the audience a part of your life, and I feel like it really helps me to understand you better. The theme is executed really well by your pictures. The theme of your image seems kinda quirky, and some of your images like the praying mantis, and the patriotic picture really help to capture that. My favorite thing about your image is the use of laying and backgrounds. It almost creates a 3-D effect, because the images appear to be in front of the outer space background. This looks really good! One of my suggestions would be to make the images a little more muted. The vibrancy of them is really bright, and there are a lot of them, so it seems like there is a lot going on. Taking down the vibrance would help to highlight a few of your favorite pictures, and also make the background pop! Also, I would suggest playing around a little bit with your title so it fades a little more into the background. The edges are a little sharp, so it would help if you blurred them a little. Overall, awesome theme, and this image is really fun!

    Like

  2. Chandler, your Graphic Design Collage is off to a good start! The part I think I most enjoyed was your background. The way you seamlessly melted the moon and the blue surface of the sun (or planet, whichever it happens to be) looks great and is just the pop of colour this project needed. Something you might want to do to further enhance your background is to move the word graphic “My Universe” a little to the left. Right now it is too close to the right border of your collage and moving it will lessen the blank space in that area. Regarding your images, I thought the embossing technique you applied was particularly effective in bringing the photographs to the forefront. I did notice that the picture in the upper right corner is a bit different. If it was intended to be that way, then leave it. But if you want all of the images to be unified, you should give that particular one more of a black outline. I can’t wait to see the finished product! -Katy

    Like

  3. I like your ideas and how you portrayed them in this collage. I loved reading about your original idea and can relate to the feeling when first coming up with an idea that was not fully obtainable with my skill level. I can see the things you really care about in your photos and how this relates to your overall topic. However, I feel that when you placed these photos it might blend better if you change the transparency of the photos to mix and incorporate better into the background. This may allow them to fit better into the photo. Overall your ideas were strong and how you displayed them were good! This collage is fun to look at and really catches your attention. Another minor change you might look to make is allowing your title to draw attention from blank space in the back group or letting it incorporate more of the photo so it shows what your collage is about. It looks great though and really shows what you are trying to convey through the creation on this blog.

    Like

  4. What makes your project interesting is the concept of your universe. The viewer gets to see who you are and what matters to you the most with the photos you provided. The background image is a great selection because it doesn’t overpower the photos in front of it. You layered it pretty well and the images are in great positions. I think if you were to alter anything, you should try to make the photos float or maybe orbiting around a planet. I make this suggestion because all those images surround you and maybe you can make that planet in the background a metaphor of yourself. I also think you should do some effects that resemble stars or something to do with grainy textures. I also think you should try tampering with the background image. Try altering the color or making the background brighter. You are on the right track and think your draft is solid. Keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

